Text size  smaller bigger

Formation and History

EuroExpert was formed as a not for profit organization in 1998 by 'The Academy of Experts' (TAE), United Kingdom The 'Fédération Nationale des Compagnies d'Experts Judiciaires' (FNCEJ), France and the 'Bundesverband öffentlich bestellter und vereidigter sowie qualifizierter Sachverständiger e.V.' (BVS), Germany as the founders. It was registered in Luxembourg, home of the European Court and its logo registered at the EU Registry in Alicante, Spain.

The first substantial step forward was when the French (Fédération Nationale des Compagnies d’Experts Judiciaires) and United Kingdom (The Academy of Experts) organisations signed a Declaration of Intent. The 'Intent' was to work together to establish mutual standards and to encourage other organisations to join them. At the same time the German organisation (Bundesverband öffentlich bestellter und vereidigter sowie qualifizierter Sachverständiger e.V.) was working with some Eastern European organisations with a view to forming an Association.

During the 1990s two new initiatives came together. Meetings in London, Prague, Milan and Paris culminated in "The Muggendorf Declaration" in May 1998. By that Declaration The BVS, FNCEJ and TAE formed "EuroExpert"; The Organisation for European Expert Associations. EuroExpert was registered in Luxembourg, which was thought appropriate as it is the home of The European Court. The Statutes having been adopted and filed in Luxembourg, a Council was elected and the substantive work commenced to establish the new Organisation. Following the 1st General Assembly held in Munich, a Secretary General was appointed and the Secretariat established in Cologne.

Print this page